The 2022 "Marburger Kamerapreis" awarded to Claire Mathon, AFC

Contre-Champ AFC n°331

[ English ] [ français ]

An initiative of the University of Marburg (Germany), the Marburger Kamerapreis is an annual prize that highlights filmmakers’ work by recognizing exceptional cinematography. Claire Mathon, AFC, will receive the prize this year in recognition of her exemplary and innovative work.

Before her, Philippe Rousselot, AFC, ASC, received this prize in 2021; Hélène Louvart, in 2018; Agnès Godard, AFC, in 2012; Renato Berta, AFC, in 2008; Eduardo Serra AFC, ASC, in 2007; and Raoul Coutard, in 2001. This year, the Marburger Kamerapreis will be presented to Claire Mathon at an event in Marburg from May 5-7, 2022.

This prize is awarded by an advisory board generally made up of a representative from the University of Marburg, a member of the city’s Office of Culture, a representative of movie theaters, members of the BVK (German Association of Cinematographers), and film critics. Amongst its members, this year we note the presence of cinematographers Rolf Coulanges, BVK, and Judith Kaufmann, BVK. It should also be noted that Arri is one of the partners supporting the Marburger Kamerapreis.

Claire Mathon - Personal Archive
Claire Mathon
Personal Archive

As a reflection of the diversity of Claire Mathon’s work, the following films will be screened at this event:
- Petite maman, by Céline Sciamma (2021)
- Spencer, by Pablo Larraín (2021)
- Dustin, short film by Naïla Guiguet (2020)
- Makhdoumin (Chacun sa bonne), by Maher Abi Samra (20216)
- L’Inconnu du lac, by Alain Guiraudie (2013)
- Enquête sur un scandale d’État, by Thierry de Peretti (2021)
- Portrait de la jeune fille en feu, by Céline Sciamma (2019)
- Atlantique, by Mati Diop (2019).

Workshops are also scheduled to be held with Claire Mathon, one of which will be with cinematographer Judith Kaufmann.